3 Comments
author

Thanks, Jeri. I love the "I feel above me the day blind stars/waiting with their light."

A number of people sent me videos in replay but they didn't get posted because I am not sure you can post a link on this comments section. Leonora Hildebrandt posted this one

https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/#search/Leonore.Hildebrandt%40maine.edu/FMfcgxwKjBNlsRHRwJSzwlGxjHhNxzlV?projector=1

which I will send and hope it comes through. It is much like Momma's Gonna Buy You a Mocking Bird..more stanzas sung and sung in an effort to soothe..great find!!

Expand full comment

Hi all,

Here is a song that I find beautifully uplifting and befitting our days: https://youtu.be/Cs-ju_L9pEQ

Leonore

Expand full comment

Here is the rest of the Wendell Berry poem:

THE PEACE OF WILD THINGS

When despair for the world grows in me

and I wake in the night at the least sound

in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,

I go and lie down where the wood drake

rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.

I come into the peace of wild things

who do not tax their lives with forethought

of grief. I come into the presence of still water.

And I feel above me the day-blind stars

waiting with their light. For a time

I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

Expand full comment