4 Comments
Dec 6, 2020Liked by Kathleen Sullivan

Kathleen,

I am just now catching up on your posts and even though awhile has past since you asked the question about where I was when I heard about Joe Biden being elected.

It was Thursday and we still had not heard about our country’s future.

We were in Florida preparing our boat for a sea trial not the place I wanted to be during a pandemic! We were very busy, a blessing for more than one reason it turns out, so we did not have time to check the news every 30 seconds.

My phone made that noise it makes when I have an incoming text and seeing it was from my friend V. I was excited to read it. This is what read that was posted both to her sister and brother in law and to me, not to Rob.

“I am making this post so it will show back up as a future memory on my timeline: Today is two days after the 2020 election. Gasoline is currently $1.80-2.10 per gallon. Interest rates are 2.65% for a 30 year mortgage. The stock market closed at 27,848, even though we have been fighting COVID for 9 months. Our GDP growth for the 3rd Qtr was 33%. We had the best economy ever until COVID and it is recovering well. We have not had any new wars or conflicts in the last 4 years. North Korea has been under control and has not been testing any missiles. Isis has not been heard from for over 3 years. The housing market is the strongest in over 20 years. Homes have appreciated at an unbelievable rate and sell within hours of going on the market, with multiple offers. I hope our new leadership can build on these things and can keep them going, but if I were a betting person I would bet that the only place we will see these results will be in this post. (Copied)”

I hope you didn’t miss the word in parenthesis.

I can’t tell you all the feelings that came over me when I read that. I was seething that she interrupted an either wise glorious day with this vile “copied”. Her parting statement-

Prayers that you are healthy, well and enjoying fall💞󾓦🌞

I was sick knowing that she had broken the unspoken rule that we never talk politics or religion. She told me when Mr. T was elected that he was our Savior. Since she belongs to a pure white blond southern church I thought probably she was sure about that. Her sister followed the same unspoken rule with V.

At that moment I knew that the dam had broken and our tentative relationship would not be able to rebuild after the flood.

My feelings and thoughts became crystal clear. Here is my response.

The heart and soul off this country is broken. The spirit we once had is suffering. Women are demoralized, suing people has become a way of solving problems. My State has more new cases of Covid and we have to wear masks in and out of doors. The country is meeting new highs of cases. Wearing masks and being safe has become about selfish rights of people.

There are not wars abroad perhaps but America is at war. Store owners have boarded up there businesses in DC.

Lying, cheating, tantrums, being a bully to name a few are being a role model for our young. Young girls are looking up to RBG for what they can be when they grow up. Kamala Harris was called a nasty woman.

The current administration threatens to take away LGBTQ rights as well as others.

There are other values besides money. There is a way to have both a solid economy and good role models in charge. I am not qualified to do that that is why I supported Biden and Harris.

THIS IS NOT COPIED it is from my heart.

V. don’t ever send me something like this again. It is a beautiful day here in Florida and I am so upset with this message that I am going to take some time to recovery.

These kind of emails are what continues to divide the country.

Just so you know Jesus stormed the market place upset with the people’s actions. He was a role model to love and adore. He isn’t dividing us he was very liberal in his actions. However, poor Jesus and the Bible have become a mortals way of getting what they want at all expense.

I am forever grateful for what followed. Her sister gentle explained to her that they need to keep their views about politics to themselves largely because her and her husband’s beliefs are more inline with mine. Her sister and husband are two of our dearest friends. Another part I am grateful for is no regret about my words and that I know how to let go of those in my life that cause me to soften my voice or worse stay silent. I was more and more unable to compartmentalize my beliefs from the ones I saw in her.

I am thankful for you in my life. You reflect back to me from that mirror a good solid person with good beliefs.

Miss you

Expand full comment
author

What a beautiful response, Tricia. Your words and your fierce beliefs in goodness over money are really moving. Thank you.

Expand full comment
Nov 7, 2020Liked by Kathleen Sullivan

Hi, Kathleen,

I wish I could say I’m mainly elated or even relieved by the news. Mainly I’m uneasy. I fear street violence… maybe some more burning in Portland or elsewhere.

I do not believe that our long national nightmare is over.

So your prose poem fooled me. I liked the image of Trump as an unwanted lobster in the trap and I was seduced into thinking the piece would stay playful and reassuring.

Next thing I know, there’s a rough beast unfolding from his slouch.

Appropriate to the day, I’d say… but troubling.

Thanks for sending it.

Steve Taylor

Expand full comment
author

But for one day there was dancing in the streets and the rough beast sulked!!

Expand full comment